Lucia di Lammermoor (Lopez-Cobos)

Lucia di Lammermoor (Lopez-Cobos)
Composer:Donizetti, Gaetano
Conductor:Jesus Lopez-Cobos


Lucia di Lammermoor is a dramma tragico (tragic opera) in three acts by Gaetano Donizetti. Salvadore Cammarano wrote the Italian libretto loosely based upon Sir Walter Scott's historical novel The Bride of Lammermoor.

The story concerns a feud between two families, the Ashtons and the Ravenswoods. When the opera begins, the Ashtons are in the ascendancy and have taken possession of Ravenswood Castle, the ancestral home of their rivals. Edgardo (Sir Edgar), Master of Ravenswood and last surviving member of his family, has been forced to live in a lonely tower by the sea, known as the Wolf's Crag. The Ashtons, despite their success, are threatened by changing political and religious forces. Enrico (Lord Henry Ashton) hopes to gain the protection of the important Arturo (Lord Arthur Bucklaw) to whom he intends to marry his sister Lucia.

The opera premiered on September 26, 1835 at the Teatro San Carlo in Naples. Donizetti revised the score for a French version which debuted on August 6, 1839 at the Théâtre de la Renaissance in Paris. Very successful from creation, today it remains one of the leading bel canto operas.

Act 1
Scene 1: The gardens of Ravenswood Castle

Normanno (Norman), captain of the castle guard, and other retainers are searching for an intruder. He tells Enrico (Henry) that he believes that the man is Edgardo (Edgar), and that he comes to the castle to meet Lucia. It is confirmed that Edgardo is indeed the intruder. Enrico reaffirms his hatred for the family and his determination to end the relationship.

Scene 2: By a fountain at the entrance to the park, beside the castle

Lucia (Lucy) waits for Edgardo. In her famous aria Regnava nel Silenzio, Lucia tells her maid Alisa (Alice) that she has seen the ghost of a girl killed on the very same spot by a jealous Ravenswood ancestor. Alisa tells Lucia that the apparition is a warning and that she must give up her love for Edgardo. Edgardo enters. For political reasons, he must leave immediately for France. He hopes to make his peace with Enrico and marry Lucia. Lucia tells him this is impossible, and instead they take a sworn vow of marriage and exchange rings. Edgardo leaves.

Act 2
Scene 1: Lord Ashton's apartments in Ravenswood Castle

Preparations have been made for the imminent wedding of Lucia to Arturo (Arthur). Enrico worries about whether Lucia will really submit to the wedding. He shows his sister a forged letter seemingly proving that Edgardo has forgotten her and taken a new lover. Enrico leaves Lucia to further persuasion this time by Raimondo (Raymond), Lucia's chaplain and tutor, that she should renounce her vow to Edgardo, for the good of the family, and marry Arturo.

Scene 2: A hall in the castle

Arturo arrives for the marriage. Lucia acts strangely, but Enrico explains that this is due to the death of her mother. Arturo signs the marriage contract, followed reluctantly by Lucia. At that point Edgardo suddenly appears in the hall. Raimondo prevents a fight, but he shows Lucia's signature on the marriage contract to Edgardo. He curses her, demanding that they return their rings to each other. He tramples his ring on the ground, before being forced out of the castle.

Act 3
Scene 1: The Wolf's Crag

Enrico visits Edgardo to challenge him to a duel. He tells him that Lucia is already enjoying her bridal bed. Edgardo agrees to fight him. They will meet later by the graveyard of the Ravenswoods, near the Wolf's Crag.

Scene 2: A Hall in Ravenswood castle

Raimondo interrupts the marriage celebrations to tell the guests that Lucia has gone mad and killed her bridegroom. Lucia enters. In the aria 'Il dolce suono' she imagines being with Edgardo, soon to be happily married. Enrico enters and at first threatens Lucia but later softens when he realizes her condition. Lucia collapses. Raimondo blames Normanno for precipitating the whole tragedy.

Set design for iii.3 by Francesco Bagnara, ca 1844 (Civica Raccolta Stampe Bertarelli Milan)Scene 3: The graveyard of the Ravenswood family

Edgardo is resolved to kill himself on Enrico's sword. He learns that Lucia is dying and then Raimondo comes to tell him that she has already died. Edgardo stabs himself with a dagger, hoping to be re-unified with Lucia in heaven.

Show more...


1 01. preludio 4:22 9.99 Mb 320 Kbps buy
2 02. Scena e Cavatina Tu sei turbato 2:56 6.72 Mb 320 Kbps buy
3 03. Scena e Cavatina Cruda, funesta smania 2:12 5.05 Mb 320 Kbps buy
4 04. Scena e Cavatina Il tuo dubbio 5:54 13.52 Mb 320 Kbps buy
5 05. Scena e Cavatina Ancor non giunse 4:35 10.49 Mb 320 Kbps buy
6 06. Scena e Cavatina Regnava nel sile 4:41 10.73 Mb 320 Kbps buy
7 07. Scena e Cavatina Quando, rapito in estasi 4:17 9.81 Mb 320 Kbps buy
8 08. Scena e duetto Finale 1 Egli s'avanza 2:49 6.46 Mb 320 Kbps buy
9 09. Scena e duetto Finale 1 Sulla tomba che rinserra 6:13 14.22 Mb 320 Kbps buy
10 10. Scena e duetto Finale 1 Verranno a te sull'aure 5:24 12.37 Mb 320 Kbps buy


1 11. Scena Lucia fra poco a te verra 2:51 6.54 Mb 320 Kbps buy
2 12. Duetto Appressati Lucia 5:45 13.15 Mb 320 Kbps buy
3 13. Duetto Soffriva nel pianto 3:33 8.12 Mb 320 Kbps buy
4 14. Duetto Che fia 1:28 3.37 Mb 320 Kbps buy
5 15. Duetto Se tradirmi tu potrai 2:57 6.74 Mb 320 Kbps buy
6 16. Scena et aria Ebben Di tua speranza 2:18 5.26 Mb 320 Kbps buy
7 17. Scena et aria Ah! cedi, cedi 2:30 5.74 Mb 320 Kbps buy
8 18. Scena et aria Al ben de' tuoi qual vittima 4:13 9.64 Mb 320 Kbps buy
9 19. Finale II 3:32 8.11 Mb 320 Kbps buy
10 20. Scena e quartetto 1:42 3.89 Mb 320 Kbps buy
11 21. Scena e quartetto 2:23 5.46 Mb 320 Kbps buy
12 22. Scena e quartetto 3:51 8.81 Mb 320 Kbps buy
13 23. Seguito e stretta del finale II 1:20 3.04 Mb 320 Kbps buy
14 24. Seguito e stretta del finale II 2:09 4.91 Mb 320 Kbps buy
15 25. Seguito e stretta del finale II 2:20 5.32 Mb 320 Kbps buy


1 26. Uragano, Scena e duetto 10:34 24.19 Mb 320 Kbps buy
2 27. Coro 2:15 5.14 Mb 320 Kbps buy
3 28. Gran scena con cori 6:11 14.14 Mb 320 Kbps buy
4 29. Scena ed aria 6:49 15.59 Mb 320 Kbps buy
5 30. Scena ed aria 4:02 9.22 Mb 320 Kbps buy
6 31. Scena ed aria 3:09 7.22 Mb 320 Kbps buy
7 32. Scena ed aria 4:25 10.11 Mb 320 Kbps buy
8 33. Scena 2:02 4.66 Mb 320 Kbps buy
9 34. Scena finale 4:14 9.70 Mb 320 Kbps buy
10 35. Scena finale 3:35 8.22 Mb 320 Kbps buy
11 36. Scena finale 4:17 9.82 Mb 320 Kbps buy
12 37. Scena finale 5:10 11.84 Mb 320 Kbps buy

Buy all (with 10% discount)  

Customer reviews:

You may like also: